Kipya Ki? Exhibition Launch

Uganda Press Photo Award
A non-profit educational platform and annual competition organised by FOTEA to showcase and nurture photographic talent based in Kampala, Uganda
Kipya Ki? Exhibition Launch
Join us to celebrate the launch of a new immersive exhibition ‘Kipya Ki?’ in the online multiplayer exhibition space New Art City.

7 April
4PM BST / 6PM EAT
Online: kipyaki.newart.city

Kipya Ki? Is an exhibition curated by two emerging curators Ibrahim Azab (UK) & Trevor Mukholi (Uganda) as part of the collaborative project run by FOTEA and FORMAT international festival bringing together emerging and established photographic talent within the UK and East Africa.

The artists exhibiting as part of Kipya Ki? work with digital and physical processes through mediums such as photography, sculpture, CGI, moving image and sound. The artists in Kipya Ki? experiment through intervening, changing and altering used and new image material. Displaying unique abilities to transform stories and images whilst navigating through unfamiliar territory, pushing the visual medium to encompass contemporary issues within social, political, industrial, technological and economical landscapes.

Exhibiting artists include: Maria Ahmed (UK), Tom Faber (UK), Brook Getachew (Ethiopia), Canon Griffin (UG), Felicity Hammond (UK), Carol Kagezi (UG), Sherie Margaret Ngigi (KE), Duncan Poulton (UK), Elise Wootten (UK) and Lidiya Zelke (Ethiopia).

This will be followed by some panel discussions
Sunday April 10 via Zoom
2-4PM BST / 4-6PM EAT

Departure
2-3PM BST / 4-5PM EAT
Panel discussion between Artists Maria Ahmed, Canon Rumanzi, Lidiya Zelke and Tom Faber, led by Ibrahim Azab.

Approaches and Perspectives
3-4PM BST / 5-6PM EAT
Panel Discussion between artists Felicity Hammond, Brook Getachew and Margaret Ngigi, led by Trevor Mukholi.

Book your spot for the panel discussions here. 

Kipya ki? is supported by the British Council Cultural Exchange programme, which supports cultural organisations, festivals, artists, and creatives between the countries of SSA and the UK to create art, build networks, collaborate and develop markets and share artists’ work with audiences.

#EastAfricaArts #SouthernAfricaArts

UGANDA PHOTO PRESS PHOTO AWARDS

The Uganda Press Photo Award(UPPA) is a platform for photographers and people interested in photography in Uganda and East Africa.
Website via Visura

UGANDA PHOTO PRESS PHOTO AWARDS is integrated to:
Visura site builder, a tool to grow your photography business
Visura's network for visual storytellers and journalists
A photography & film archive by Visura
Photography grants, open calls, and contests
A newsfeed for visual storytellers